Follow via facebook Follow via twitter Follow via youtube Follow via dailymotion

Moussorgski - Pictures at an Exhibition

Quintette Moraguès


True to their mission to expand the repertoire for wind quintet, the Quintet Moraguès performs here masterpieces by two great Russian composers in new transcriptions for wind quintet and piano.

As on all their recordings, the artists premiere arrangements written exclusively for their instrumentation by David Walter.

Their last album was devoted to Ravel’s celebrated works ma Mère l'Oye, le Tombeau de Couperin and Pavane pour une Infante Défunte.  Similarly, this most recent recording presents a unique transcription of Mussorgksy's Pictures at an Exhibition, combining the intimate character of the original version for piano solo with the colors of Ravel’s later orchestration.

These new transcriptions for wind quintet and piano are an ingenious addition to the chamber music repertoire.

A fresh approach to rediscover a classic!


Pictures at an Exhibition
Modeste Moussorgski (Transcription David Walter)
    1    Promenade
    2    Gnomus / promenade
    3    Il vecchio castello
    4    Promenade
    5    Tuilleries
    6    Bydlo
    7    Promenade
    8    Ballet des poussins dans leurs coques
    9    Samuel Goldenberg und Schmuyle
    10    Limoges "le marché"
    11    Catacombae
    12    Con mortuis in lingua mortua
    13    La cabane sur des pattes de poules
    14    Grande porte de Kiev


Jazz Suite (extracts)
Dmitri Chostakovitch (Transcription David Walter)
    15    Marche
    16    Petite polka
    17    Valse n°2
    18    Danse n°1
    19    Danse n°2

Michel Moraguès, flute
David Walter, oboe
Pascal Moraguès, clarinet
Pierre Moraguès, french horn
Giorgio Mandolesi, bassoon
Yves Henry, piano


Subscribe to our newsletter!

Retrouvez nos disques sur...